Why is my Coinbase account showing a negative balance and how can I resolve it ?

Status

Qualified
Jul 10, 2023
Recently I noticed my Coinbase account was showing a negative balance. As far as I know, I haven't done anything to cause this. I'm not sure why this happened, and I'm looking for help to figure out how to resolve it.

I'm new to cryptocurrency, so I'm not sure how to handle this situation. Are there certain steps I need to take to fix this issue? What kind of fees or charges might I have to pay to get my account back in the green? Is there a way to dispute this balance? Is there anything else I should know about this issue?

I would really appreciate any advice or assistance that experienced Coinbase users could offer.

Alice

Qualified
Jul 16, 2023
What is the Problem?

Coinbase is a digital currency exchange that allows users to buy, sell, and store digital currencies such as Bitcoin, Ethereum, and Litecoin. It is one of the most popular and widely used digital currency exchanges in the world. However, it is possible for users to experience a negative balance on their Coinbase accounts. This can occur if a user has made a mistake when entering their payment information or if they have received a chargeback from a merchant.

What Causes a Negative Balance?

A negative balance on a Coinbase account can occur if a user has made a mistake when entering their payment information or if they have received a chargeback from a merchant. A chargeback occurs when a merchant refunds a customer for a purchase, but the customer does not return the funds to Coinbase. This can result in a negative balance on the user's Coinbase account.

How Can I Resolve a Negative Balance?