What are the risks of leaving cryptocurrencies on Kraken Pro for a long time ?

Tezos

Qualified
Jul 9, 2023
Cryptocurrency trading can be highly profitable, but it also comes with a number of risks. One of the risks of leaving your cryptocurrencies on an exchange such as Kraken Pro is the risk of hacking. Despite its reputation for being secure, exchanges can still be vulnerable to attack, resulting in the loss of funds.

Furthermore, if your account is inactive for a long period of time, you may be subject to additional fees. Exchanges may also require you to update your account information periodically, or risk the suspension of your account.

I'm relatively new to cryptocurrency trading, so I'm sure there are other risks I'm not aware of. What other risks should I be aware of when leaving my cryptocurrencies on Kraken Pro for a long time? Are there any steps I can take to minimize these risks? Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Adam

Qualified
Jul 16, 2023
Risks of Long-Term Storage on Kraken Pro

Security

The first risk of leaving cryptocurrencies on Kraken Pro for a long time is security. As with any online exchange, there is a risk of hacking or other malicious activity. Kraken Pro is a reputable and secure platform, but it is still vulnerable to attack. Additionally, if you use a weak password or have weak security settings, your account could be compromised.

Price Volatility

Another risk of leaving cryptocurrencies on Kraken Pro for a long time is price volatility. Cryptocurrencies are highly volatile, and the prices can swing wildly in a short period of time. If you leave your cryptocurrencies on the exchange for too long, you could end up losing money due to market fluctuations.

Regulation