How do mining pool payouts work ?

Delbert

Rookie
Jul 17, 2023
Cryptocurrency mining pools are groups of miners who work together to mine cryptocurrency and share the profits. But how do mining pool payouts actually work?

I'm a newbie to cryptocurrency mining and I'm wondering how the payouts from mining pools are actually calculated and distributed. Do miners receive a fixed amount for each block they mine, or is the payout based on how much work they have put in?

I know there are lots of different mining pool payment models, such as PPS, PPLNS, Solo, and FPPS, but I'm not sure which is the most profitable and how the different models work.

I'd love to hear from experienced miners who can explain the different mining pool payment models and tell me which one is the best for profitability.

• Sad
Reactions: SushiSwap

Chainlink

Qualified
Jul 9, 2023
Mining pools are groups of miners who combine their computing power to increase their chances of validating and confirming a block. When a block is validated and confirmed, the miners in the pool share the reward according to their contribution to validating the block. This reward is known as a mining pool payout. Payouts from mining pools are calculated using a Pay Per Share (PPS) system, which calculates a miners' contribution to the pool relative to the total amount of work done by all miners in the pool. The PPS system ensures that miners get paid for their work regardless of whether the pool finds a block or not. This system also ensures that miners are not paid more than they should, which prevents miners from engaging in “selfish” mining.

Evan

Rookie
Jul 18, 2023