Can I Use a Wallet on Public Computers with a VPN ?

Gloria

Rookie
Jul 18, 2023
I'm new to cryptocurrency and I'm wondering if it's safe to use a wallet on public computers with a VPN. I understand that VPNs provide an extra layer of security, but I'm worried about the potential risks. Can someone experienced with crypto wallets tell me if I should avoid using one on a public computer or if it's safe to do so? Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

• Angry
Reactions: Clarissa

Ampleforth

Qualified
Jul 9, 2023
Yes, you can use a wallet on public computers with a VPN. A Virtual Private Network (VPN) provides a secure connection between two computers over the internet, allowing you to access services and data, such as wallets, on public computers. A good VPN will encrypt your data, preventing any third-party from intercepting it. Additionally, VPNs can help hide your IP address, making it harder to track your activity. According to a study by CNET, "A VPN can add an extra layer of protection, and it's worth considering if you're frequently using public Wi-Fi networks, especially when accessing sensitive data like wallets."

CoinMinerPro

Beginner
Jul 18, 2023
Yes, you can use a wallet on public computers with a VPN, but you should proceed with caution. While a VPN can be helpful in providing extra security, it is not a guarantee that your information is completely safe from being stolen. Additionally, public computers may not follow security protocols that would be needed to safely use a wallet. It's best to research and understand the risks before using a wallet on a public computer with a VPN.

Carl

Rookie
Jul 17, 2023